Tyrol cake

I had to do a bit of research to try figure out where this name comes from. Tyrol is a region of Austria but I couldn’t find any traditional cake recipes to compare this to. The book does have a section with recipes from around the world, there is an Austrian section so would’ve expected this recipe to be in there if it was a traditional cake from the region.

Here’s the recipe

Ingredients
3.5oz butter
8oz plain flour
1 tsp cinnamon
2oz caster sugar
2oz sultanas
2oz currants
1tsp bicarbonate of soda
Quarter pint milk
3tbsps honey

The flour, cinnamon and butter are rubbed together until like breadcrumbs. Then add the fruit and sugar. Dissolve the bicarbonate of soda in some milk then add that along with the rest of the milk and the honey. Beat until it’s a dropping consistency. I make a lot of cakes but wasn’t familiar with dropping consistency, fortunately the book has a whole section on cooking terms, so to quote the book a dropping consistency is ‘the term used to describe the texture of a cake or pudding mixture before cooking. To test, well-fill a spoon with the mixture and hold its side above a basin – the mixture should fall in 5 seconds without having to jerk the spoon’. I had to add more milk as my mixture was not dropping in 5 seconds!!

It takes 1.5 – 2 hours at 170. The house smelt brilliant while it was cooking. It didn’t rise much, but I didn’t expect it to considering there is no egg, self raising flour or baking powder.

How did it taste? Great, was brilliant just warm from the oven, had a slightly dense texture and was so moreish. I’d swithered over the tin, recipe says 6inch but didn’t suggest a shape. At first I thought it sounded more like a loaf but I ended up baking it a round tin.

Would I make it again? Yes definitely, loved it.
image

image

3 thoughts on “Tyrol cake

  1. I was lucky enough to get the last slice of this cake in work today, it was delicious with my morning coffee! I certainly won’t mind if Jacqui brought this cake in again!

Leave a Reply

