Kedgeree

I am definitely a morning person and love a big breakfast. My breakfast of choice is usually a massive bowl of porridge, even in the summer! So wanted to try something different. This is a traditional breakfast dish from colonial India, although there are suggestions that this was actually a Scottish dish taken to India by Scottish troops!

Ingredients

12oz smoked haddock
6oz long grain rice
2 hard boiled eggs
3oz butter
Salt and cayenne pepper
Chopped parsley

Put the fish in a pan of water and bring to the boil, then take off the heat, cover and leave for 10 minutes then drain and flake. Cook the rice in the usual way. Shell the eggs, chop one and slice the other. Melt the butter in a pan, add the rice, fish, chopped egg, salt and pepper and stir over a moderate heat for 5 minutes. Garnish with sliced egg and parsley

Well this is not how I used to make kedgeree. I know I had a habit of deviating from recipes and adding extra things and leaving ingredients out, especially the egg!! I used to use curry powder to make it, and would usually do in the one pan to save the dishes. That’s the only criticism of this, I had to use 3 saucepans, which isn’t ideal first thing in the morning. Was it worth it? Yes, brilliant breakfast for a cold rainy morning before work. As I’ve mentioned before I don’t like egg, well I thought I didn’t, but I enjoyed the egg in this. Think I was a tad heavy-handed with the cayenne pepper so it had a bit of a kick.

Would I make it again? Yes, maybe on a weekend when I’m not in so much of a rush!
image

2 thoughts on “Kedgeree

Leave a Reply

