Baked tomatoes with eggs

This is one of the recipes that I was really looking forward to, even with the egg! I thought it sounded simple yet effective.

Ingredients

4 large tomatoes
2 medium mushrooms chopped
0.5oz butter
4 small eggs

Cut the stalk end off the tomatoes and scoop out the pulp. Lightly fry the mushrooms in the butter for 5 minutes, without colouring and put a little in the base of each tomato. Break the eggs separately and pour one into each tomato. Season and bake at 200 for 10 minutes until eggs lightly set.

Sounds pretty good?? Well this didn’t quite go to plan for me, was a victim of my lack of patience! I had bought quite possibly the biggest tomatoes I had ever seen, was actually quite hard work cutting out the stalk. I know I went wrong by not cutting out enough pulp, I think the idea is to take it right back to just the flesh wall of the tomato. After 20 minutes in the oven the eggs were not cooked, in order to hurry things along I put it under the grill. In hindsight I wish I had just left in the oven and let it bake slowly, again need more patience for that, in my defence I was hungry.

So on eating there was a lot of juice from the tomato which kind of washed the other flavours away, which I think results from not having cut out enough pulp. I also think my tomatoes were obscenely big and not as soft as I’d hoped. Taste wise it was ok. I think if I had prepared the tomato properly, used a smaller tomato and let it cook slowly it would’ve been brilliant. A really different side dish for a breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Would I make it again? Yes, need to get it right, I can’t be defeated by a giant tomato..
image

4 thoughts on “Baked tomatoes with eggs

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Tomatoes | goodfoodseeking

  2. Pingback: Stuffed Tomato Salad | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

