Lime marmalade

It’s a Sunday afternoon so wanted to try something from the jams, jellies and marmalades chapter, and the limes were on offer!

Ingredients

1.5lb limes
3 pints water
3lb sugar

Wash the fruit and remove the stem end. Place in a pan with the water and cover with a tight fitting lid. Simmer for 1.5-2 hours until the fruit is really soft. Remove it, slice very thinly using a knife and fork and discard the pips. Return the sliced fruit and all the juice to the pan and weigh(???). If necessary boil the mixture until it is reduced to 2.5lb. Add the sugar and stir until it has dissolved. Boil until setting point, allow to stand for 15 minutes then pour into sterilised jars.

Firstly I could not weigh the pan with the water and fruit. If you have electric scales then I guess you could but would need to remember to weigh the pan before you start! So I didn’t weigh my pan so had to just skip that and hope it would work ok. Setting point is basically 221 degrees F. I have a sugar thermometer so was able to make sure it reached the correct temperature. The book does advise a second check such as the saucer test. Put a plate in freezer and when you think it’s ready put a teaspoon of mix on cold plate, once it’s cooled it should wrinkle as you push your finger across it. The first boiling stage took me about an hour and a half. What a brilliant smell! I have made orange marmalade in the past and didn’t use water, was just fruit and sugar so I was a bit dubious at one point, it looked very watery. I would say the second boiling stage took about 20 minutes, the volume of liquid did reduce significantly and once cooled was a lovely thick set marmalade.

I made this hours ago and have been waiting for the marmalade to cool. I loved this, had to have on white toast with butter! It wasn’t as vibrant in colour as lime marmalades you see in the shop but still tasted great, just the right balance of sweetness and sharpness. I had bought 1lb of limes so used two thirds of the other ingredients, this made 3 jars and a little extra.

Would I make it again? Yes, I quite often make jams and chutneys for gifts at Christmas so may add this one.
image

4 thoughts on “Lime marmalade

  1. I got a wee pot of this to take home and try. Had it on a slice of toast for supper last night and was really tasty. Could really taste the limes and was so much better than the shop bought stuff. My try making this some day myself.

  2. I too got a wee pot of this to take home and try. I don’t know how I managed, but I waited to have it on toast for breakfast this morning and I was not disappointed!!! It tasted fantastic, much nicer than the shop bouhgt stuff. You could tast the limes properly and it was much more zingy than anything else I have ever tasted. God it’s great to be an official taster for Jacqui!!!!

  3. And I’m the lucky 3rd recipient of the pot of marmalade 🙂 I’ve just had some lovely brown bread toast covered in this delicious preserve……and I agree it was fab!!

Leave a Reply

