Apple sauce

I was given some cooking apples from a friend of my mothers so decided to try an apple sauce

Ingredients

1lb cooking apples peeled and cored
1oz butter
A little sugar (optional)

Slice the apples and simmer gently in a covered saucepan with 2-3 tbsps water until soft – about 10 minutes. Beat to a pulp with a wooden spoon, then put through a sieve or put in an electric blender. Stir in the butter and add a little sugar if the apples are very tart.

I was given these apples at the weekend and decided I wanted to try making the apple sauce rather than baking with them. I was thinking to myself that this was going to be a pretty rubbish post, what is there to say about apple sauce?? Well this was a brilliant apple sauce! Obviously I can’t take any credit, it’s all thanks to Good Housekeeping. This is ridiculously simple and was made in 15 minutes. I added less than a teaspoon of sugar, quite like it tart. The resulting sauce was so velvety, a gorgeous texture. We had it with pork chops and was just excellent.

Would I make this again? Yes but what am I going to do with all the sauce I’ve made tonight……
image

Leave a Reply

