Greek baked courgettes and aubergines

This is another recipe from the around the world chapter, this time from Greece.

Ingredients

2 aubergines
6-7 courgettes
6-8 shallots
1 clove garlic
Olive oil
Sugar
3tbsps tomato paste
Quarter pint stock
2 tbsps breadcrumbs
Olives for garnish

Slice the aubergines, courgettes and shallots and chop the garlic very finely. Rub the ovenproof dish with oil, put a layer of aubergines in the bottom and sprinkle with salt and pepper; now put in a layer of shallot and a little garlic then one of the courgettes. Continue like this until the dish has been filled. Mix the sugar, tomato paste and stock and pour over the vegetables. Sprinkle with the crumbs, pour on 2 tbsps olive oil and bake at 180 for one hour. Garnish with olives before serving.

I halved this one for the two of us and it was way too much, going to be leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Think I was a bit lazy with my slicing and could’ve done with thinner vegetables! The book doesn’t specify how much sugar, I just used a teaspoon, also I didn’t think 1 tbsps of breadcrumbs looked like enough. Have to say this created a great smell in the house while it was cooking. Recipe does say it can be served hot or cold, we had it hot from the oven.

This tasted brilliant. As I said I’d left my veg a bit thick, so after an hour it still kept it shape so maybe I did slice to the right thickness after all. As I had poured the liquid in it really didn’t look like enough, but I think having cooked slowly for an hour it worked just fine. The breadcrumbs were a nice touch, definitely needed more. We had this as a side dish with sausages (I know not very Greek!) but you could have as a main dinner with some nice homemade crusty bread. Also maybe a nice addition would be some cheese, obvious choice would be feta in keeping with Greek theme but I actually think some grated Parmesan would go really well.

Would I make this again? Yes, brilliant smell and tasted fab
image

Leave a Reply

