Lemon cake

Fancied a lemon sponge after a long day at work!

Ingredients

8oz self raising flour
A pinch of salt
4oz butter or margarine
4oz sugar
Grated rind and juice of 1 small lemon
1 egg
About 6-8 tbsps milk

Grease a 6 inch cake tin. Rub the fat into the flour and salt until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. Stir in the sugar and lemon rind. Make a well in the centre, pour in the egg, lemon juice and some of the milk and gradually work into the dry ingredients adding more milk if necessary to give a dripping consistency. Bake at 180 for and hour and a quarter until golden and firm to touch.

Really easy to make, not to taxing for a Monday evening after work! Think I just about used the full quantity of milk and my cake tin was actually 7inches and was fine. I thought this seemed like a long time to cook a sponge, I know fruit cakes often need over an hour so I kept a close eye on this to avoid it over browning on the top. Recipe says to cook until golden, well after an hour mine was getting nearer to a dark brown so I took it out of the oven. The recipe doesn’t suggest any icing or drizzle, I was tempted to drizzle over some icing sugar mixed with lemon juice but didn’t want to deviate!

As you can see my cake is pretty much past the golden stage, it still tasted great. It was wonderfully light on the inside with a slight crunch on the outside! I think it could definitely do with an icing, or even just making some holes with a skewer and some sweetened lemon juice poured on it whilst it cools down. I also think it could take some more lemon, maybe another half a lemon grated and juiced.

Would I make this again? Yes, lovely lovely cake but would add more lemon and a drizzle next time
image

image

Leave a Reply

