Toad in the hole

Was looking forward to this, am quite partial to toad in the hole!

Ingredients

4oz plain flour
Half tsp salt
1 egg
Half pint milk and water
Half lb skinless sausages

Put the flour and salt into a bowl. Add the egg and half the liquid. Gradually stir in the flour and beat until smooth then add the rest of the liquid. Grease a shallow ovenproof dish, put in the sausages and then pour over the batter. Bake at 220 for 40-45 minutes until well risen and golden.

No idea why it has to be skinless sausages, I have made this before and just used regular sausages but I stuck with the recipe and reluctantly bought skinless ones. Didn’t actually know you could buy skinless, I was just going to buy sausages and remove the skin until I came across a packet of skinless ones in the supermarket. Pretty straightforward to make, but I was pretty disappointed with the lack of puffiness, I had been expecting gloriously puffed up toad/hole, whichever is the batter.

I served this with peas and onion gravy, and despite it not looking as puffed up as if hoped it was actually really brilliant, a good Sunday evening comfort food. I wasn’t looking forward to the sausages, they were actually ok but next time I would just stick with good sausages with their skin on, didn’t see the advantage of using skinless sausages.

Would I make this again? Yes, perhaps add some herbs to the batter and use better sausages
image

Leave a Reply

