Corned beef casserole

Was not really looking forward to this. I think I’ve had corned beef once in a sandwich years ago, have never bought it in a can. I am kind if put off by the whole meat in cans but as that was quite popular back when this book was written there are quite a few recipes using canned meat, so I’ll need to just get on with it!

Ingredients
2lb potatoes
1 onion chopped
16oz can baked beans
12oz can corned beef

Cook the potatoes in boiling salted water for 20 minutes until just soft, drain and dice. Fry the onion until pale golden, about 5 minutes. Add the diced potatoes and continue to fry until they are golden brown. Remove a quarter of the onion and potato from the pan. Add the baked beans and corned beef, mix and season well. Put the mixture into a casserole and sprinkle the remaining onion and potato over the top. Bake at 190 for 20 minutes.

I made the full quantity of this one. Ended up being a complete drama opening the corned beef. I had bought two smaller cans and was bit confused when trying to open them, until Stephen pointed out that there should be a key like thing to open them! Neither can had such a thing, so using a combination of pliers, tin opener and a knife I finally had the cans opened. Let’s just say I am pretty surprised that we didn’t end up in A&E with a severed finger! I still was not convinced by the corned beef as I was slicing it into cubes, it’s not that appetising looking, I carried on anyway! Despite the can fiasco this is quite simple to make and uses pretty basic ingredients, my gran did say that corned beef was something she had often in the 40s.

So this made loads, is probably enough for two nights and that’s even with second portions tonight. So how did this taste? I suppose it was ok, I didn’t eat much but think that’s because it was so filling. Abigail certainly enjoyed it and Stephen had seconds! I think I was just a bit put off by the way the corned beef is presented in the can, can’t bring myself to say what it reminded me of!

Would I make it again? Not sure, but will be having it for leftovers tomorrow so may change my mind!
image

Leave a Reply

