Chicken a la king

This is chicken in a creamy sauce with mushrooms and peppers and is often served with rice, pasta or bread. Apparently it originates from New York in the 1800s.

Ingredients

2oz butter
4oz mushrooms sliced
Half a green pepper chopped
1.5oz flour
Three quarters pint milk or milk and stock mix
8-12oz cooked chicken diced
Salt, pepper, paprika or nutmeg
1-2 tbsps sherry

Melt the butter and fry the mushrooms and pepper until soft. Stir in the flour, cook for 2-3 minutes, remove from the heat and stir in the milk gradually. Bring the sauce to the boil and continue to stir until it thickens. Add the chicken, season to taste and add the sherry if using. Serve with boiled rice or buttered noodles or as a snack with toast or crisp rolls.

According to the book chicken a la king can be bought in cans and kept as a standby for a quick meal! I just used some cooked chicken thighs, don’t suppose it really matters what chicken you use, would also be good with leftover turkey, then I guess you’d call it turkey a la king! Other references to this I found do also include pepper and mushrooms but the sauce is made with cream and sometimes other veg like peas are added. I went for half stock, half milk as I though that would make a more flavoursome sauce and I think that cuts down on the calories! I wished I’d had sherry to add as that is also included in most other versions. I was really swithering over what to serve this with; rice, noodles, toast or in a puff pastry shell are all options I found! I ended up picking rice.

This is dead easy to make, I actually made this early on today and reheated for dinner. I did taste it earlier when it was fresh and was good but think leaving it a while and having reheated actually benefits this dish. The sauce was lovely; thick and velvety. I added paprika rather than nutmeg (only because that’s what I have in the cupboard)

This was so tasty there was something really nostalgic about this, I really couldn’t put my finger on it but the taste of this was brining back memories of my childhood! My husband said this was magic! Just as well as we are having leftovers tomorrow so I might try with noodles. I would consider trying this as a filling for vol-au-vaunts for a really retro starter!

Would I make this again? Yes, definitely
image

Leave a Reply

