Wholemeal Scones

I really like making scones; quick and easy, plus I have a load of homemade jam in the cupboard!

Ingredients

8oz wholemeal flour
Pinch of salt
1.5 tsps baking powder
1oz margarine
1.5oz sugar
1 egg
4-6 tbsps milk

Sift the flour, salt and baking powder. Rub in the fat till the mixture resembles breadcrumbs and stir in the sugar. Mix to a fairly soft dough with the egg and milk, roll out to three quarters of an inch and cut into 10-12 rounds. Put on a baking tray and bake at 230 for 10 minutes.

I’ve made quite a few scones in my time but I’ve never used an egg in the recipe, have used the egg as a glaze only.

The start of the chapter gives a lot of information on scone making faults! I think the only thing I can say about mine is that they didn’t rise as much as I would’ve liked. So the book says reasons for that are; insufficient raising agent was used, the handling was heaving at the kneading stage, insufficient liquid was used or the oven temperature was incorrect. So I suppose any of these could apply to these scones.

Taste wise these were great. Had these warm from the oven with butter and my homemade rhubarb and vanilla jam. Have to admit I had two, well they quite small!

Would I make these again? Yes, lots of jam to eat!
image

Leave a Reply

