Cream of Leek and Potato Soup

I quite often make leek and potato soup, is one of our favourites. To be honest this is no different from what I usually do except this has cream added!

Ingredients

4 medium leeks sliced
1 small onion chopped
3 medium sized potatoes chopped
1oz butter
2 pints stock
2-3 tbsps cream

Lightly fry the veg in the butter for about 5 minutes until soft but not coloured. Add the stock, cover and simmer for about 45 minutes until the veg is cooked. Sieve or put in an electric blender and return to the pan. Re-heat, season and add the cream.

Really straightforward to make this. I use chicken stock that I made the last time we had chicken, I freeze it in portions of about 300ml so I know how much I’m defrosting, could just as easily use cubes, which I do when there’s no stock left in freezer. Usually when I make soup I don’t measure the liquid, I usually just put in enough to cover the veg and hope I end up with a nice thick soup. I did measure this volume, and at first I thought it seemed like loads and I was going to end up with a watery soup, but once I poured it in the pot it looked like the amount I’d usually use, however it was a bit thinner than I’d normally like by the time it was blended. I don’t normally leave my soup to simmer for 45 minutes, usually 30 minutes max. I stuck with the recipe and by the time 45 minutes had passed the potatoes had practically disintegrated! Just made it quicker to blend!

There’s not much to say about this really, all three of us love this soup anyway so knew this was going to be tasty. The cream just adds an extra richness that was nice. I was going to try and be arty and attempt to drizzle a shape with the cream, didn’t look good! We had this with some homemade bread and butter, delicious!

Would I make this again? Yes, make this often anyway but adding the cream was a nice addition!
image

Leave a Reply

