Creamed Tomatoes on Toast

This is an Australian dish and comes from the recipes around the world chapter.

Ingredients

1lb tomatoes skinned and quartered
1 egg
2-3 tbsps double cream
Hot buttered toast

Simmer the tomatoes in their own juice until cooked. Add the egg, cream and seasoning and cook over boiling water, stirring constantly until the mixture thickens. Serve on the toast

I wasn’t too sure how long to cook the tomatoes initially. I just kept going for about 7 minutes until it was a tomato mush. Have to say I was really tempted to keep cooking the mix with the egg and cream in the pan in the direct heat, but felt like that was cheating! So did as the recipe said and placed my pan over another pan of boiling water. Again the recipe doesn’t state how long this stage will take, and I found it took a good 15 minutes. I had some serious doubts, it was really sloppy looking and took a while to start thickening, but I stuck with it and slowly it does start to thicken up. I did think maybe I hadn’t cooked my tomatoes for long enough at the start so when making again I’d give them an extra few minutes to simmer off more of the juice to see if that quickens up the second stage.

I know this photo looks awful, I don’t need anyone to tell me that! Just don’t knock it till you’ve tried it! I really liked this. I’d had left over soup for my dinner so this was an evening snack! You could have it for lunch or even breakfast, as long as you’re not in a rush and have time for all the stirring. The resulting mixture is lovely and thick with a sweetness from the tomatoes and then the richness from the cream. One slice was enough for me. Would be nice with some herbs through it, or a slice or two of crispy bacon on top.

Would I make this again? Yes, tasty brunch dish
image

Leave a Reply

