Haddock with Cheese Sauce

The type of fish we usually buy for mid week dinners are haddock or river cobbler, mainly as they cheap and easy to cook, but I find I end up doing the same thing; a fish, leek and rice one pot. It’s tasty but think I’m stuck in my fish ways!

Ingredients

1.5lb haddock or any white fish
Quarter pint milk
1oz butter or margarine
3 tbsps flour
6oz cheese grated

Place the fish in a saucepan, just cover with water and add a little salt. Cover the pan, bring slowly to the boil, turn off the heat and leave covered for 5 minutes. Drain off the liquid, retaining quarter of a pint and mix it with the milk. Put the fish in a shallow ovenproof dish and keep warm. Melt the fat, stir in the flour and cook for 2-3 minutes then gradually add the liquid. Bring to the boil and stir until the sauce thickens. Remove from the heat, stir in 4oz cheese and season to taste; pour over the fish and sprinkle with the remaining cheese. Place under a hot grill until golden and bubbling.

I halved this, only because I only took half the required amount of fish out of the freezer! To be honest half was enough for the three of us. Even halving this I thought it seemed like a lot of cheese, I do love cheese but maybe not so much with fish! I does make a lovely cheese sauce, but if I was to make this again I would cut back the cheese slightly as it did overpower the fish.

I did enjoy this, it was tasty, if you like cheese! We just had this with some vegetables and I actually think this sauce complimented the vegetables more than the fish!

Would I make this again? Yes, but I’d cut back the cheese and maybe throw in some herbs
image

Leave a Reply

