Spanish Sausages

So I’m not too sure what makes this a Spanish dish, I know peppers, tomatoes and onions are used a lot in Spanish cooking but I would’ve expected some garlic, herbs and maybe some paprika. Doesn’t stop this being tasty!

Ingredients

1 onion sliced
2oz fat or oil
1lb sausages
1 green pepper sliced
1 bay leaf
2 cloves
15oz can tomatoes
1 tsp sugar
3 tbsps flour
6 tbsps water

Lightly fry the onion in hot fat or oil for 2-3 minutes. Add the rest of the ingredients, except the flour and water, cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Blend the flour and water to a cream, stir in a little of the hot liquid, add this mixture to the pan and bring to the boil, stirring until it thickens. Remove the bay leaf and cloves before serving

So again this is another recipe that requires ingredients you would normally have in the cupboard/fridge. I have to say that so far the only ingredient I’ve struggled to find is canned pimiento, most other things have been common store cupboard items, and that is one of the appealing things about this book; creating brilliant dishes with basic ingredients.

This was really easy to make, my only real comment is after about 15 minutes of simmering my liquid had pretty much vanished. I used a regular can of tomatoes which I had thought was about 15oz. So as I was concerned about having undercooked sausages I had to add a splash of water to ensure that the whole thing didn’t turn into a burnt mess by the time 30 minutes was up. Then I was also thinking there’s no need to add the flour mix, thought there wasn’t enough liquid to be adding a thickener. I carried on anyway and adding the flour mix created a lovely thick, velvety looking sauce.

We just had this with potatoes. Was pretty damn tasty! The sausages were good, from out local butcher and can’t really go wrong with them. The veg was lovely and soft and the sauce was lovely and thick with the slight background spice from the cloves. Overall another great dinner enjoyed by all three of us. I told my daughter she gets a prize if she finds the cloves as I forgot to take them out before serving! Not sure if that put her off! Excuse the messy photo, had planned to take another photo once I’d served it on the plate but I was so hungry I forgot!!

Would I make this again? Yes, different way to cook sausages
image

Leave a Reply

