Glazed Ham and Pineapple Loaf

This is another Australian recipe from the around the world chapter. Sounds delicious doesn’t it…….

Ingredients

4oz pineapple pieces finely chopped
2 tsps Demerara sugar
2 tsps butter
12oz can of spiced ham

Mix the pineapple, butter and sugar and place in the bottom of an ovenproof dish. Remove the meat from the can without breaking it and place it in the centre of the fruit. Bake in the centre if the oven for 20 minutes, basting often.

Yes a can of ham, when I saw the title of this recipe I had visions of a joint of gammon slowly roasted with a sticky pineapple glaze. I suppose this is a simplified version of that! I couldn’t find a can of spiced ham so bought a can of peppered ham, don’t think that makes too much a difference, am sure they both look equally revolting!

I remember my gran used to use canned ham when she made us sandwiches, and that was not that long ago. I certainly ate a few of them and always enjoyed them. The way something is presented certainly can have an effect on how much you enjoy eating it! I was not looking forward to eating this at all. My gran married in 1947 and she did say that canned meat, in particular spam, was used a lot.

I tried to get at least a slightly appetising looking photo, failed. It looks awful doesn’t it? I was going to leave the photo off because it looks so unappealing but thought I couldn’t find the words to properly describe this so went ahead and posted photo.

Taste wise it was edible. I just can’t get over the way it’s presented and then the kind of soft consistency. While we were attempting to eat this we were discussing the ham used in some takeaway pizzas, they sometimes have chunks of ham that have that soft texture so am guessing some places may actually use canned ham.

Neither if us could finish this. I tried slicing it into thin pieces but didn’t help. There was a stunned silence over the dinner table until I admitted I wasn’t going to eat it all! The recipe does say you can eat this hot or cold, so as I hate waste I have put the remaining ham in the fridge with the idea that I may try it tomorrow cold for lunch, may change my mind!

Would I make it again? It’s a definite no and am not looking forward to the next canned meat recipe!

image

6 thoughts on “Glazed Ham and Pineapple Loaf

  1. Ha looks delicious! Korean’s eat spam a lot, as do other folk in the region. Fried rice isn’t complete without it! As it’s hard to avoid here I do eat it sometimes especially in gimbap (Korean sushi roll with spam instead of the raw fish^^)

  2. Pingback: My Blog Anniversary!!! | goodfoodseeking

  3. Pingback: Baked Ham with Pineapple | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

