Cream Cheese Gnocchi

After last nights disaster I really was praying this turned out better. Think this is actually quite an advanced recipe for the era this book was written. This is from the pasta and rice chapter

Ingredients

Half lb cream cheese (traditionally ricotta) sieved
2oz butter
4 tbsps grated Parmesan
2 eggs
2-3oz flour
Grated nutmeg
Melted butter and grated cheese to serve

Mix all the ingredients together, beat until smooth, then form into small balls or cork shapes. Roll these in flour and poach a few at a time in boiling salted water – this takes 5 minutes, and they are ready when they rise to the top of the pan. Serve tossed in melted butter and sprinkled with grated Parmesan

I have made gnocchi a few times but has always been with mashed potato, I think that’s the more traditional way to make it so it’s quite surprising that this recipe is in the book. There is another gnocchi using semolina that I’ll try another day.

I wasn’t sure if the recipe meant to just sieve the ricotta to remove the moisture or to actually push the entire cheese through the sieve, I opted for the latter as thought that would help create a smoother texture. I halved all these quantities as the tub of ricotta I had bought was 250g and that made plenty for 2 adults.

It did start to get a bit messy when I was trying to shape the gnocchi. I tried using my hands at first but it’s a really wet mixture. So I sprinkled some flour onto a flat plate, then dolloped on piles of the mixture just using a teaspoon. I then rolled them into balls using the flour as an anti-sticking agent! That worked quite well and wasn’t too messy! These do cook really quickly and I did exactly as the recipes suggests and tossed them gently in melted butter once poached and then topped with Parmesan.

So this isn’t a dish for a reduced calorie diet! I had been tempted to make a tomato sauce and serve them in that but wanted to get the taste of the gnocchi and liked the sound of the melted butter! After eating this though I felt like I should run up and down the stairs a hundred times and then eat a stick of celery!

These tasted delicious. The little balls of gnocchi were beautifully soft with just a glistening of butter and then the melted Parmesan in top added even extra cheesiness! You could just taste the hint of nutmeg so could take a bit more next time. It’s really filling, and the thought of the calories from all the cheese and butter means you don’t really need much. I think in total we had about 10 pieces each, but we both really enjoyed this, I was worried it would need more of a sauce but it really doesn’t, the melted butter is enough.

Would I make this again? Yes, loved it
image

3 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Gnocchi

  1. Pingback: Semolina Gnocchi Alla Romana | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

