Coleslaw – 1

Decided to make this as an accompaniment with the quiche, it’s called coleslaw-1 because there is another recipe called coleslaw-2!

Ingredients

Half a white cabbage finely shredded
A small onion finely chopped
Half – 1 tbsp chopped parsley (optional)
4 tbsps salad cream
1 tsp sugar
A few drops of vinegar or lemon juice

Combine the cabbage, onion and parsley in a large bowl. Mix the salad cream with the sugar salt and pepper and add enough vinegar or lemon juice to sharpen the flavour. Toss with the salad in the bowl until lightly coated, adding a little more salad cream if necessary.

I’ve made coleslaw a few times but never to a recipe, always just mixed chopped cabbage, carrot and onion with mayonnaise. So this was a bit different as there is no carrot, salad cream instead of mayo and then sugar and lemon juice are added.

It may seem a faff having to slice up so much veg, but I actually find it quite relaxing! Does that make me sound strange?? It wasn’t until I’d finished that I realised it says to finely chop the onion, I had assumed it was to be sliced as that’s what I normally do, don’t really suppose it matters, as long as it’s not massive chunks!

The recipe says the parsley is optional, I would say it should always be added, think you need it with the raw onion. It did seem a bit strange to add sugar to the salad cream and then have to add vinegar or lemon juice to sharpen it. Salad cream itself is quite sharp so didn’t think that step was required. Anyway the lemon flavour is quite nice.

This is such a brilliant coleslaw. Really didn’t think there was going to be much to say about this but I can’t stress enough how good this is. I had thought you would notice the lack of carrot but not at all. The salad cream and lemon combo is great, really lifts this and makes a real change from mayonnaise. My husband says this is the best coleslaw he has ever tasted! I will be making coleslaw-2 at some point but it has a lot to live up to as this is really really good!

Will I make this again? Yes, definitely!
image

4 thoughts on “Coleslaw – 1

  1. Pingback: Coleslaw-2 | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

