Ginger Nut Biscuits

I made these today for a twitter bake club, check out the Sunday Bake Club blog

The recipe does come from the book and have been really looking forward to making these.

Ingredients

6oz plain flour
Pinch salt
1 tbsp ground ginger
1 tsp mixed spice
1 tsp ground cinnamon
2 oz butter or marg
4 oz Demerara sugar
2-3 tbsps golden syrup warmed

Sift the flour with the salt, ginger, mixed spice and cinnamon. Cream the butter and sugar and stir in the dry ingredients with enough syrup to make a stiff dough. Roll into balls the size of a walnut, place on a baking sheet and flatten lightly. Bake for 15-20 minutes until lightly browned and crisp

I love ginger biscuits and my gran gave me her recipe which is amazing, so these had a lot to live up to. I also remember somebody once telling me you can’t beat a shop bought ginger nut so don’t bother trying. Well I disagree, I think you can’t beat a homemade biscuit.

I had to use the full quantity of syrup to make these. The smell was amazing as these were cooking.

One of the problems when making biscuits is I end up eating loads fresh from the oven when they are still warm!

Taste wise these are great. They are quite heavy in the ginger but I love that. As they cool they get crisper. They are just brilliant dunked in a cup of tea. My grans ginger biscuits are slightly chewier than these so equally brilliant in their own way.

Would I make these again? Yes, nearly finished this batch so need to make more
image

7 thoughts on “Ginger Nut Biscuits

  1. Hi Jacqui. Tried your recipe but I must have done something wrong since they were rock hard. I put them in the oven at 200°C for 17mins on top shelf. This may be the problem since no oven temp was given. I also used 3 tbsp syrup. I am about to make your ginger biscuits. I think they should be better since they only have 4oz flour. I normally use metric so what conversion would you use? 28?

    • Oh dear, the ones I made were hard but just like the ones you can buy, they weren’t too hard. Sorry if I forgot to put oven temp on, recipe says 190. Hope you have more joy with the other ones!! I have a wee convertor chart and 4oz = 110g

      • Thanks Jacqui. I have just made the ginger biscuits and the taste and texture was perfect. I can’t think what I did wrong with the nuts??? Keep on cooking. Unfortunately I am not as able at the moment to post any recipes but let’s hope things get a little better.

Leave a Reply

