Cauliflower Au Gratin

I had bought a cauliflower to have as part of my week long diet, but when it came to having plain old boiled cauliflower I changed my mind! I feel cauliflower needs a bit help to make it tasty! The soup I made earlier was great, but wanted to try something different with it this time..

Ingredients

1 cauliflower
1.5 oz butter
1 oz flour
Half pint milk
4 oz grated cheese

Cook the cauliflower in fast boiling salted water until soft, drain and place in an oven proof dish. Melt the butter, stir in the flour and cook for 2-3 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat and gradually stir in the milk; bring to the boil and continue to stir until it thickens. Stir in 3oz of the cheese and season to taste. Pour over the hot cauliflower, sprinkle with the remaining cheese and brown under a hot grill.

I think I boiled the cauliflower for about 10 minutes. Also it doesn’t say to cut into florets, I did as I assumed that was correct. Didn’t think I was meant to leave whole as that would be difficult to serve.

So this is basically cauliflower cheese! I have to say I’ve never made so many cheese sauces before, I feel like most recipes I’ve been picking involve making either a white sauce or a cheese sauce! Getting to be a bit of an expert!

This was great. Lovely comforting side dish to have with sausages. I had used an Isle of Mull cheddar again so was quite a strong sauce but I love it like that. Just to say that it’s not burnt, the dark brown bits are meant to be there and they were the tastiest bits!

Would I make this again? Yes, good cauliflower side
image

5 thoughts on “Cauliflower Au Gratin

  1. Pingback: Dressed Cauliflower | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

