Bacon Floddies

These sound a bit weird and I’ve never heard of these before. I’m always looking for new ways to jazz up potatoes so was looking forward to this..

Ingredients

1 potato (about 4oz) peeled
1 onion
3 oz bacon finely chopped
3 tbsps self raising flour
1 egg

Grate the potato and onion into a bowl. Add the bacon, flour, egg and plenty of seasoning. Fry spoonfuls of the mixture slowly in the hot oil for 7-8 minutes till golden brown, turning occasionally. Drain on kitchen paper. Serve as an accompaniment to chicken as an alternative to plain potatoes.

I suppose this is like a potato rosti, only fancier! At first I wasn’t sure if I should be using cooked or raw bacon; but after checking other recipes it will specifically say cooked bacon if that’s required. I chopped the bacon as finely as I could to ensure it would be cooked through. At first I had started to put in plain flour then realised my mistake. It’s is self raising flour used which does give them a wee bit of volume.

I would’ve expected these to be in the vegetable section as a way to cook potatoes but they are actually in the meat section.

I fried these for much longer than 8 minutes, almost twice as long. I wanted to make sure they weren’t crisp on outside but not cooked through.

These are brilliant. They are surprisingly filling but I could’ve eaten a whole plate of them! I had expected them to be crunchier, not sure if the softness inside is to do with the self raising flour. I think I could’ve pressed them a little bit thinner and that may have made them a touch crispier. As they were though they are delicious. I hate serving boiled potatoes as I think they are pretty dull, so always like finding different ways with potato and this is now one of favourites!

Would I make these again? Yes, definitely
image

8 thoughts on “Bacon Floddies

Leave a Reply

