Macaroni Cheese

I love macaroni cheese but was quite surprised to find it in this book. I suppose it’s probably one of the first pasta dishes cooked in this country. Apparently the first modern recipe for macaroni cheese was in a cook book from 1769.

Ingredients

6 oz macaroni
1.5 oz butter
1.5 oz flour
1 pint milk
A pinch of nutmeg or half a tsp mustard
6 oz grated cheese
2 tbsps breadcrumbs (optional)

Cook the macaroni as per the packet instructions. Melt the fat, stir in the flour and cook for 2-3 minutes. Gradually add the milk. Bring to the boil and continue to stir until it thickens; remove from the heat and stir in seasoning 4 oz of the cheese and mustard/nutmeg then mix with the macaroni. Transfer to an oven proof dish and sprinkle with the breadcrumbs and remaining cheese. Bake at 200 for 20 minutes until golden and bubbling.

I opted for the mustard rather than nutmeg, and I did use breadcrumbs; I like the crunch it gives. I used Red Leicester cheese, only because that’s the only hard cheese I had in the fridge. Don’t think it matters what you use, but because the cheese I used is quite red it means the dish goes a bit of an orange colour!

I made the full quantity of this and should be enough for four, well this was just enough for the three of us!

This was exactly what I fancied after a long walk home in the cold from work! It’s wonderfully cheesy and comforting. I think this is a pretty standard recipe and doesn’t differ really from any mac cheese I’ve made in the past. Our plates were scraped clean!

Would I make this again? Yes, love a good macaroni cheese!
image

2 thoughts on “Macaroni Cheese

Leave a Reply

