Hollandaise Sauce

I’ve never made a Hollandaise before, actually don’t think I’ve even eaten it before!

Ingredients

2 tbsps wine or tarragon vinegar
1 tbsp water
2 egg yolks
3-4 oz butter
Seasoning

Put the vinegar and water in a small pan and boil until reduced to about 1 tbsp; cool slightly. Put the yolks in a bowl and stir in the vinegar. Put over a pan of hot water and heat gently, stirring all the time, until the egg mixture thickens. Divide the butter into small pieces and gradually whisk into the sauce; add seasoning to taste. If the sauce is too sharp add a little more butter-it should be slightly piquant, almost thick enough to hold its own shape and warm rather than hot when you serve it.

I just used wine vinegar because that’s what I have in the cupboard. I had it in my head that a traditional Hollandaise had fresh tarragon through it for some reason, so at one point I was wishing I’d bought the tarragon vinegar. When you read 3-4 oz of butter it doesn’t sound like much but when you measure it out it looks like loads! I didn’t want to waste the egg whites so they have been frozen – now have ridiculous amount of egg whites in freeze, need to do some thing meringue related soon!

So I thought this was going well as I was making it, then I had en epic fail; it spilt! It was looking lovely and thick with a great shine and tasted good. I took my eye off it for a second and when I turned back it had separated and looked utterly revolting! Had a mad panic and a quick check on google; didn’t find a quick fix so had to start again! I think I went wrong by leaving it on the heat, I should’ve removed the bowl from the pan once I’d achieved the correct consistency, instead I did my usual and worried about under cooking.

So the second time round I removed it from the heat as soon as I reached the thick shiny stage. This time it was just right. It looks pretty rubbish in the photo but honestly this was really delicious. I did try and be all fancy and do a cheffy like smear but looked daft!

We had this with salmon and was a prefect combination. Was just the right amount of sharpness.

Would I make this again? Yes, no need to buy tarragon vinegar and was just lovely like this
image

2 thoughts on “Hollandaise Sauce

Leave a Reply

