Snails a la Bourguignonne

This delightful recipe comes from the appetiser chapter and I’m cooking for the family so though they really should have the opportunity to share this with me!

Ingredients

1 can of snails
Half pint white wine
1 onion stuck with cloves
2 cloves of garlic crushed
Quarter pint of brandy
A bouquet garni
Salt and butter

For the snail butter
4oz softened butter
Half a shallot finely chopped
1 clove of garlic crushed
1-2 tbsps chopped parsley
Good pinch of mixed spice

Remove the snails from the can and place in a pan with the rest of the first set of ingredients. Simmer gently for 1 hour, remove from the heat and allow to cool in the liquor. Meanwhile mix the ingredients for the snail butter, blending well. Put a snail into each shell then fill up with snail butter and put in an ovenproof dish. Bake at 200 for 10 minutes. If shells are not provided, simmer as above then put them in an ovenproof dish, place the butter over and round them and bake as above.

I do remember watching the Hairy Bikers cook snails recently, and even my daughter who was watching with me said they looked good! I wasn’t able to find snails in any local shops so I ordered from a website called French Click. They were quite expensive so I only ordered a small can, and also don’t expect many people to share this with me!!
image

So the snails are basically simmered in a lot of alcohol, guess that may help disguise the snail flavour?? After about 45 minutes they had pretty much absorbed the entire liquid so I had to turn the heat off and let then absorb further.

Going into the oven they still looked very unappetising, I had high hopes for the garlic herby butter!
image

After all this cooking I was expecting tough little bites of snail, but surprisingly these were actually quite pleasant! They had quite a meaty texture but the buttery garlic sauce was lovely. Overall I was very surprised by these and my 5 year old daughter tried them so they can’t be that bad!

Would I make these again? Yes I might! Was pleasantly surprised
image

Leave a Reply

