Crisp Sweet Pancakes

This is another recipe from the around the world and is a dish from Mexico. I was in the mood for something sweet and cinnamon flavoured so had high hopes for this one..

Ingredients

12 oz plain flour
1 level tsp baking powder
1 level tsp salt
1 level tsp sugar
4 eggs
2 oz melted butter
About half a pint milk
Oil for frying
Sugar and cinnamon

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together and add the sugar and eggs. Beat well and add the butter and as much milk as is necessary to make an easily handed dough. Knead the dough well and form into small balls. Cover with a cloth and leave for 20 minutes; then sprinkle some flour on a board and roll out each ball into a very thin pancake. Leave them to stand for 5 minutes, then fry them in deep hot oil until they are golden brown, crisp and flaky. Drain and then dip in a mixture of sugar and cinnamon or serve covered with thin honey.

Apparently it’s also traditional to break these into a soup bowl and add syrup made with brown sugar and cinnamon.

I halved this recipe as it was just going to be a treat for the two of us. I really didn’t need much milk at all to make a nice soft dough that I was able to knead. I didn’t measure it but it wasn’t anyway near a quarter of a pint.

I suppose these do take a bit of time to prepare but the actual cooking time is very quick. The first one took a bit longer as my oil wasn’t hot enough but after that they were cooked after about 2 minutes. I just did them one at a time, but if you have a lot of oil you could do them in a bigger pan and cook more together. It was very satisfying watching them puff up as they went into the hot oil
image

The oil did spit a little as they went in, and it burns!! So if making these be very careful when putting them in the oil. Once they are cooked they look wonderfully golden and puffed up.

image

I was a bit lazy with my rolling and they are all very random shaped but that does not matter. The smell while they are cooking is great, yes it’s a very fried baked product kind of smell like churros cooking which I happen to quite like!

I dipped them in the sugar and cinnamon rather than use honey. As I said I halved this recipe but that still made 8 which was way too much for us, I could only manage 3 then I was stuffed, not sure how these will keep so will see tomorrow.

These are so great. They are just what I was in the mood for. They have such a wonderful texture, for any Scottish people reading this they are like a thin butterie. They have that flaky texture but are much sweeter due to the coating. I know these are pretty unhealthy but who cares! They were a great comfort food snack on a cold evening.

Would I make these again? Yes, could try with a chocolate sauce next time like churros
image

3 thoughts on “Crisp Sweet Pancakes

Leave a Reply

