Brandy Butter

This is another of the dishes that I think only my dad ever eats at Christmas!

Ingredients

3 oz butter
3 oz sugar
2-3 tbsps brandy

Cream the butter until pale and fluffy. Beat in the sugar gradually and add the brandy a few drops at a a time, taking care not to allow the mixture to curdle. The finished sauce should be pale and frothy.
image

Pile it up in a small dish and leave to harden before serving.

Thankfully it didn’t curdle as I was beating in the brandy. I think I used 2 tablespoons, was tempted to use more but was worried about it curdling.

Obviously we had this with a Christmas pudding, which was expertly flamed by my mother.

I couldn’t help but think that all this is is a big lump of butter and sugar. I put that to the back of my mind and had a good teaspoon on top of my pudding. It’s actually quite lovely as it melts into the pudding. There was a good hit from the brandy, but not sure if that’s the butter or the pudding. I did really enjoy it, although just a teaspoon was enough.

Would I make this again? Yes, really easy and good with the pud
image

One thought on “Brandy Butter

Leave a Reply

