Herb Dumplings

I have neglected my blog for the last two days while we were away for a post Christmas break. We returned today to some pretty bare cupboards, and after perhaps a slight overindulgence we were looking forward to a healthy bowl of soup for dinner. There is no bread in the house so though I’d have a go at these to serve with the soup. This recipe comes from the soup chapter and is a suggested accompaniment for any meat or vegetable soup.

Ingredients

4 oz self raising flour
2 oz suet
Half an onion grated
Half a tsp mixed herbs
Seasoning
Water

Mix the flour, suet, onion, herbs together. Add seasoning and sufficient water to make an elastic dough. Divide into approximately 16 portions, roll into small balls using a bit of flour. Add to the soup and simmer for 15-20 minutes.

I was making a parsnip and carrot soup as that’s all the veg we had in the fridge, I also threw in the other part of the onion and the last of the potatoes.

I halved this recipe for the three of us, so only ended up grating a quarter of an onion, but the rest was going in the soup anyway. I just used dried oregano but think you could use whatever dried herbs you have in the cupboards.

My soup had been simmering for about 20 minutes then blended, and then the dumplings were added. At first they sank to the bottom but gradually made there way back to the surface and started to puff up. I think my soup was maybe a touch thick, I think I ended up cooking the dumplings for over 20 minutes.

These were a great addition to the soup and a nice change from just bread. My daughter found it amusing that there was a dumpling in her soup, and she did enjoy them. Overall the soup was great and the dumplings were a perfect accompaniment.

Would I make these again? Yes
image

One thought on “Herb Dumplings

Leave a Reply

