Corn Fritters

I’m trying to see how long I can keep making recipes from the book before I have to go shopping. One of the things I would’ve done if I had a bit more time is to see how cost effective these recipes are; am I spending more or less money? Yes there have been a few things I’ve had to go hunting for but over all most ingredients have been pretty cheap and basic.

Ingredients

2 oz flour
1 egg
Eighth of a pint of milk
8 oz can of corn
Seasoning
Oil for deep frying

Sift the flour, salt and pepper into a bowl, make a well in the centre, drop in the egg and gradually add the milk, drawing in the flour from the sides and mixing and beating until smooth. Add sufficient milk to bring to a coating consistency. Add the corn. Heat the oil, drop in spoonfuls and cook until golden brown – about 15 minutes. Drain before serving.

I assumed I was to use plain flour, although started to think self raising might’ve made nice puffed up balls of corn! I added all the milk, but once I had added the corn it looked a bit too wet. Fortunately it worked out fine as I was cooking them. So here’s me frying food agin when I said earlier that I don’t often fry food!!

I think sweetcorn is quite an under-rated vegetable, we do always have a bag in the freezer and the odd can in the cupboard, and when we do have it I always say we should eat corn more often!!

The recipe says these take 15 minutes to cook, I assume that means 15 minutes in total as they actually cook really quickly in the hot oil.

I made the full quantity of these which is apparently enough for 6, I ended up with about 20 fritters, and there’s none left!! They are rather lovely. I had expected them to be crisp, but they were actually quite soft, I’m not sure if that’s because I had popped them in the oven for a few minutes.

Would I make these again? Yes, all three of us loved these
image

4 thoughts on “Corn Fritters

  1. Good ole corn fritters! I love them Jacqui – one of my faves. I’ve also found a way round standing frying several batches (for when I’m too tired to stand that long) – I just do a couple of huge ones the size of the frying pan! Corn fritters to the max! xx

Leave a Reply

