Candied Carrots

We were having leftovers from last nights lamb stew for tea so thought I’d try a different way with carrots. This actually comes from the family catering chapter and gives quantities for 6 or 20..

Ingredients

1.5lb carrots
2 oz sugar
0.5 oz butter
0.5 pint water

Cut the carrots into quarter inch coins. Boil in salted water until tender then drain. Mix together the sugar, butter and water in a large frying pan or saucepan until the sugar dissolves. Add the carrots and leave the pan on a very low heat for 5-10 minutes stirring occasionally.

I halved this recipe and was plenty for the three of us. When the carrots were cooking in the sugar mix I was tempted to increase the heat to caramelise them a bit. It did seem like a lot of liquid and wasn’t sure if the point was to simmer it away, if so that would’ve taken way longer than 10 minutes. I cooked them for the suggested 10 minutes but then had to drain away a fair amount of liquid.

These were really soft by the time I was finished, and they tasted much sweeter than I expected. There was a bit of a mixed opinon about these. My daughter loved them but my husband wasn’t so sure. He felt they needed a bit more stickiness and I have to agree. I didn’t dislike like but wouldn’t rush to make again. I would maybe try reducing the volume of water and increasing the heat to try caramelise them a bit more.

Would I make these again? Just like this – no

20140106-185427.jpg

One thought on “Candied Carrots

  1. Pingback: Glazed Carrots | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

