Cream Cheese Balls

I wanted a trio of appetisers and this felt the most appropriate as I had a lot of cream cheese to use up…

Ingredients

Cream cheese
Milk
Parsley or desiccated coconut or chopped almonds or chopped walnuts or chopped ham.

If the cheese is rather stiff, mix it with a little milk, blending until smooth. Form into balls about the size of a walnut and roll in one of the chosen coverings.

I didn’t need milk as the cheese was quite soft, would’ve been a complete mess if I’d added any liquid it!

Well what a decision I had as to how to cover these. I have all the suggested ingredients and I was tempted to do a little variety pack but considering I’d spent a fair amount of time stuffing fruit I wanted to just pick one so I opted for chopped walnuts.

Instead of forming into balls I had to use two teaspoons to drop the cheese into a bowl of chopped nuts. There was simply no way I could form the cream cheese into balls with my hands. Once I had dropped little spoonfuls into a plate of chopped nuts I could use the nuts to form into more of a ball shape and they started to look ok. I put them into the fridge to firm up a bit before eating.

I’m glad I made these quite small, but they were again a rather lovely accompaniment with drinks. The cheese was not too soft and really well seasoned then there was a nice crunch from the nuts. You could use any kind of nut I think and it would be interesting to try with coconut.

Overall I’m quite pleased with my appetisers this evening, they have been quite delicious and a nice change from the usual crisps.

Would I make these again? Yes I would!
image

2 thoughts on “Cream Cheese Balls

Leave a Reply

