Chicken Nut Stew

This recipe comes from Nigeria and I was really looking forward to this; think it sounds like a kind of satay sauce. I was surprised to see peanut butter in this book, I had to phone my gran to see if she ever ate that post war and it was a definite no, she only had it for the first time fairly recently. So although this book dates back to 1948 it was updated in 1967 so this may have been added in a later edition.

I did a bit of research and the earliest mentions of peanut butter date back to 1894 and it was a multi-million dollar business by the mid twentieth century. It’s popularity did dip in the later 90’s due to health concerns but since then it’s popularity has soared. Did you know that peanuts aren’t nuts, they are a legume! Also did you know that January 24th is national peanut butter day??

Ingredients

A 2.5-3lb chicken
1 large onion chopped
1 tbsp oil
9 level tsp peanut butter
0.5 pint chicken stock
3-4 tomatoes
1 chilli deseeded and chopped
Quarter tsp curry powder or cumin

Cut the chicken into pieces. Fry the chopped onion slowly in the oil till golden. Remove the pan from the heat, add the peanut butter and enough stock to give the consistency of thin cream. Add the tomatoes, chilli, cumin or curry powder and chicken, cover and simmer for 1-1.5 hours. Season to taste.
Serve with plain boiled rice and with side dishes such as rings of green pepper, mango chutney, sliced bananas or hard boiled eggs. Spinach or marrow go well with this stew.

I didn’t joint a whole chicken, last time I did that I made a complete mess and nearly severed a finger. So instead I just used chicken thighs. I used smooth peanut butter, but after doing a bit of research I think the chunky stuff was around much earlier so maybe I should’ve used that. I also used a red chilli rather that green, also it doesn’t say what to do with the tomatoes so I just chopped them with the skins on. I also used curry powder but only because it was first to hand in my cupboard!

I served this with boiled rice, but didn’t do any of the accompaniments, not sure I really fancy banana or boiled eggs with this!

After the cooking time this was smelling rather delicious, I know it’s another long time to cook for mid week but it gave me to time to get my daughter to bed them we could sit and have dinner together.
image

This was seriously tasty, we both loved this! I had made the full quantity so there would be enough for leftovers; we were both nearly going back for seconds! The peanut butter flavour with the chicken is just delightful! There’s not a lot of heat from the chilli, just a background warmth so if you fancy a bit more heat you could leave the chilli seeds in. The chicken was lovely and tender and the sauce was a great consistency.

Would I make this again? Most definitely!
image

7 thoughts on “Chicken Nut Stew

  1. Greig loves a Satay and I am addicted to peanut butter just now (the organic/no added sugar ones) so I will defo try this! I even got 9 jars of different flavours of Peanut Butter & Co for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

