Siphniac Honey Cake

This is a Greek recipe and is one of the most unusual cake recipes I’ve made in a while. I did research this and most results led me back to a reference about a Good Housekeeping recipe, so I have to assume that’s this one!

Ingredients

4 oz plain flour
3 oz butter
4 oz cream cheese
2 oz honey
2 oz sugar
0.5 tsp cinnamon
2 eggs
Sugar and cinnamon

Sift the flour and chop in the butter, add 1 tbsp of water, work to a smooth paste and then use to line a flat tin. Mix together the cream cheese, honey, sugar and cinnamon and then add the eggs. Spread this mixture over the pastry and sprinkle the top with sugar and cinnamon. Bake for half an hour at 180. Cut into slices when cool.

I’m not sure what’s meant by chopping in the butter, so I ended up rubbing in with my fingers. Then adding 1 tbsp of water did not create a paste, I had to add probably another tbsp and then I did end up with a thick paste. The recipe doesn’t specify the tin size and the one I used was about 15×25 cm. It did take a bit of effort to spread the mix over the base and I nearly did give up and try a smaller tin. But it did eventually cover the base after using a combination of spreading and kneading with my hands. It was at this point I also though more water should’ve been added to make it more spreadable.

Mixing all the filling was straightforward enough but definitely wasn’t spreadable either! It was more pourable as it was so wet, that then meant that the sugar cinnamon mix kind of sank right in! The recipe also doesn’t give sugar and cinnamon quantities for the topping so think I used two tbsps of sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon.

After half an hour it looked pretty golden and had puffed up, but it started to sink quite quickly, and as you can see I didn’t do a very good job of distributing the sugar!

image

As there is no photo and there’s nothing in the recipe that describes the finished product I had to just do a bit of guess work. It was pretty browned after the half hour and it felt slightly firm to the touch, so I let it cool before slicing.

I was worried this was going to be a soggy mess! It is quite soft on top but the base was much firmer than I expected and there was no soggy bottom! It’s definitely much thinner than I had hoped for, it sank quite a lot once out of the oven, I really wish I’d made it in a marginally smaller tin.

Taste wise it’s rather pleasant! You really don’t get much of the filling due to it being so thin, but it does have a nice sweet flavour. I really do think it could do with a lot more cinnamon though both in the mix and on top.

I tried to get a photo to show the layers but they are so similar in colour it’s hard to see.

Would I make this again? Yes I would, it’s a lovely alternative with a cup of tea.
image

8 thoughts on “Siphniac Honey Cake

  1. Pingback: Almond Fingers | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

