Fish Provencale

I had seen a recipe for this in a magazine recently and it looked really delicious, so rather than make that I thought I’d try this version first. I compared the ingredients; this one has bacon but no olives!

Ingredients

1 onion chopped
0.5 – 1 green pepper chopped
2-3 oz bacon chopped
1 oz butter
1lb cod, haddock or whiting
Seasoned flour
15oz can tomatoes
1 bay leaf
2 level tsp sugar
Seasoning

Fry the onion, pepper and bacon gently in the butter for 5-10 minutes until soft but not coloured. Wash and dry the fish and cut into 1 inch cubes. Toss the fish in seasoned flour and fry with the vegetables for a further 2-3 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, bay leaf, sugar and seasoning, bring to the boil, stirring gently, cover with a lid and simmer for 5-10 minutes until the fish and vegetables are tender.

I just used haddock block and I used a whole pepper. Although peppers are included in the more modern versions it suggest a red pepper. Every recipe that has included peppers in this book specifically says green pepper. I know that red peppers are basically ripened green peppers so you wonder if that wasn’t widely known back then? Red peppers tend to be sweeter than green and I wonder if that would have an effect on this dish.

The only problem I had was that the fish didn’t stay in chunks. By the time this had simmered for only 5 minutes the fish had completely disintegrated! I did cut it into roughly 1 inch chunks, so next time I’d be leaving much bigger.

We had this with some mini roast potatoes and it was great. Even thought most of the fish was in flakes there was a few chunks left. The sauce was really really lovely, the bacon added a really nice smoky flavour, but you could leave that out.

Overall another great dinner!

Would I make this again? Yes but I’d keep the fish much bigger
image

2 thoughts on “Fish Provencale

Leave a Reply

