Mexican Fire

Not sure if the name puts me off this! The recipe actually suggests serving this with scampi! I’m serving it with some veg to dip in. This is in the appetiser chapter but comes under the sub heading of dips and dunks! It goes on to describe each; dip is a soft well flavoured mixture, hot or cold and a dunk is a bite sized portion of something firm or crisp. So there you go in case you didn’t know that!

Ingredients

0.5 oz butter
1.5 tbsps flour
Quarter pint milk
Salt and pepper
Quarter tsp mustard
0.5 tsp chilli powder
4 oz gruyere
1 tbsp chopped green pepper (optional)

Melt the fat, stir in the flour and cook for 2-3 minutes. Stir in the milk, gradually bring to the boil and continue to stir until the sauce thickens; add the seasonings. Remove from the heat and add the cheese and the green pepper. Stir until the cheese has melted and serve hot.

I opted to use the pepper, I was cutting it up anyway to have as one if my dunking options! I couldn’t decide if I should be using mustard powder or prepared mustard, I opted for the powder.

The last dip I made was the devils dip, and that was the first time I’d made a dip without using cream cheese. It was really quite pleasant so was looking forward to this one.

It actually took a while for the cheese to melt, I had cut it up quite small but it was taking so long I had to put it back on the heat for a couple of minutes.

As you can see we had this with some peppers and carrots, not the suggested scampi! I actually think this would be quite nice over nachos.

It isn’t as hot and fiery as I expected, it has more of a warmth to it. I would add more chilli next time, or even add some chopped fresh chilli. We did enjoy it was a nice change from cream cheese dips and was good warm but once it’s cooled it didn’t quite have the same appeal!

Would I make this again? Yes, would add more chilli and have with nachos!
image

Leave a Reply

