Creamed Mushrooms

We had this as a starter but would be a nice lunch or even just a snack..

Ingredients

0.5lb mushrooms
0.5 pint milk
0.5 oz cornflour
0.5 oz butter
1-2 tbsps cream
Salt and pepper
A squeeze of lemon juice
4 slices toast buttered

Simmer the mushrooms in some of the milk until just soft-about 10 minutes. Blend the cornflour to a smooth cream with the remaining cold milk, add the milk in which the mushrooms were cooked and return all the mixture to the pan; bring to the boil stirring all the time until it thickens, and cook for a further 2-3 minutes. Stir in the butter, cream and season, then add lemon juice. Serve on buttered toast.

The recipe doesn’t say to slice the mushrooms but unless you have really small button mushrooms I think they need sliced or cut into smaller chunks. I was halving this as I didn’t have enough mushrooms, but it’s near impossible to measure a quarter of an ounce on my scales so had to do a bit of estimating! I used a teaspoon of cornflour and a knob of butter.

I only wish I did have more mushrooms so I could’ve made another couple slices; this was really tasty. I had used tiger bread which I love, but it was the creamy mushroom sauce that was the best bit! My daughter loves mushrooms so she scoffed her bit. I do think a touch of paprika or some fresh herbs would be nice, but as it is this is good.

Would I make this again? Yes, will make more next time!
image

2 thoughts on “Creamed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

