Sausage Pie

I usually like to make something on a Sunday that takes a bit more effort, but didn’t really have time today. I also used the shortcrust recipe from the book, it’s a pretty generic recipe but will give you that as well.

So for the shortcrust pastry..

Ingredients

4 oz plain flour
Pinch of salt
1 oz lard
1 oz margarine
4 tbsps water

Mix the flour and salt together. Cut the fat into small knobs and rub in until it resembles breadcrumbs. Add the water a litte at a time, stirring with a round bladed knife until it begins to stick together. With one hand collect it together and knead lightly for a few seconds to give a firm smooth dough. The pastry can be used straightaway, but is better if allowed to rest for 15 minutes. It can also be kept in the fridge for a few days.

So now onto the pie…

Ingredients

2 onions chopped
2-3 potatoes thinly sliced
Salt and pepper
Half – quarter lb of sausage meat
1 level tsp sage or mixed herbs
4 oz shortcrust pastry

Put the veg into salted water, cover and bring slowly to the boil, then drain. Put them into a 7-inch pie dish and cover with the sausage meat divided into small peices, then add a generous amount of seasoning and herbs. Roll out the pastry to form a lid and cover the pie with it making a double edge so that it will not brown too much. Bake at 200 for 10-15 minutes until the pastry begins to brown, then turn the heat down to 180 and continue to cook for 30 minutes.

I boiled both the onion and the potato as the recipe does say veg not just potato. I had initially thought I should be just boiling the potato but assumed the recipe would’ve specifically said that. Have to say the smell of boiling onions is a tad unpleasant!!

I did attempt to layer my potatoes in the pie dish and then put the onions on top. I don’t have a pie dish so borrowed one from my gran today! So felt this was a proper old fashioned pie! She did say they had sausage and egg pie a lot, I don’t have a recipe for that but you could just add some hard boiled eggs to this. She also was telling me that she had rabbit quite often and when was I trying that!! I do have a couple rabbit recipes so will maybe try one soon.

I’m not convinced I’m understanding the double edge, I just put an extra layer of pastry around the edge of the pie, but can’t see how that stops it browning too much?

This was quite pleasant, it was a bit dry and was screaming out for a nice sauce or some pickle. I hadn’t made any sauce, was wishing I had made an onion gravy. Despite that it was good, the potatoes were pretty much like mash after all the cooking, the onion was soft and the lumps of sausage meat were nice. The pastry on top was nice as well, I hadn’t rolled it too thick. I do think it might be nice having the pastry as a base as well.

Would I make this again? Yes, I’d try putting some egg through it and I’d try making a full pastry case. Additional decorations optional!
image

5 thoughts on “Sausage Pie

Leave a Reply

