Chocolate Tea Bread

When I think of tea bread I imagine a loaf type cake with plenty of fruit. According to the dictionary the definition of tea bread is – sweetened buns to be eaten with tea; bun, roll – small rounded bread either plain or sweet. So there you go! I suppose the name could be given to a variety of things and I plan on having this with a cup of tea anyway!

Ingredients

5 oz butter or margarine
3 oz caster sugar
3 oz moist brown sugar
2 eggs
8 oz sifted self raising flour
Milk to mix
1 oz walnuts chopped
2 oz chocolate grated

Grease and line an oblong tin, 6 x 10 inches. Cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy, then beat in the eggs one at a time. Gradually fold in the flour. Mix with a little milk to a dropping consistency and lastly add the nuts and chocolate. Place in the tin, make a slight hollow in the centre, dust with sugar and bake at 180 for 75 minutes.

I was tempted to bake this in a loaf tin as that’s what I imagined the shape a tea bread should be. I do have a 6×10 inch tin but it’s more like a small tray bake size, I used it anyway to stick with the recipe.

I really didn’t think this would need all that time in the oven. I kept a close eye on it, and in the end did leave in the oven for the time stated in the recipe. It is really firm after all that time and quite a dark brown.

If I’d had the time I would’ve had a slice of this warm from the oven, but I didn’t get a chance to try it until it had cooled completely. It does have a significant crust to it so does need a bread knife to slice! It is slightly on the dry side, but despite that it’s brilliant with a cup of tea. I also think it’s quite flat, and think it would be better done in a loaf tin.

It’s not too heavy on the chocolate and the walnuts are really lovely. I also think the brown sugar adds an sort of toffee like flavour to it. It is surprisingly light once you get through the crust!

Would I make this again? Yes I would, but I would put it in a loaf tin and take out the oven much earlier
image

One thought on “Chocolate Tea Bread

Leave a Reply

