Spiced Hot Grapefruit

I had warm grapefruit as part of the diet week I did back in November and I was surprised how much I enjoyed it! We used to have grapefruit quite often when we were young, used to spend ages trying to squeeze as much juice out the skin as we could! So decided to try this for breakfast today, although this is actually from the appetisers chapter so you could have as a starter

Ingredients

Grapefruit
2 tbsps brown sugar
1.5 tsps ground cinnamon
Butter

Prepare the grapefruit by cutting in half, then cutting round each half and loosening the segments. Mix the sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle over the grapefruit, then dot with butter. Grill lightly under a medium grill until the sugar has melted and the grapefruit is heated through. Decorate with cherries and serve hot.

Two tbsps of sugar seemed like an awful lot for just one grapefruit. The recipe doesn’t specify how many grapefruits to use so I had to assume it was for 4 and each person would eat a whole grapefruit right?? So I quartered the amount of sugar and cinnamon just for me and the was enough to sprinkle over. Also there is no butter quantity, I used a tiny bit, probably about half a tsp dotted between the two halves.

My grill is a bit temperamental, it’s either on or its off! I had to keep a close eye on it, to make sure the sugar was melting but not burning. It took about 5 minutes under my hot grill!

Well I really really enjoyed this! Its lovely and refreshing even though its warm. The sugar and cinnamon on top adds a nice sweet spicy crunch which is a great combination with the juicy grapefruit. To be honest I could’ve eaten another one!! I had taken a photo of the two halves together and was ready to post but then thought it looked a bit odd/rude!! Obviously the cherry is optional….

Would I make this again? Yes, great refreshing start to the day!
image

9 thoughts on “Spiced Hot Grapefruit

Leave a Reply

