Casseroled Beef and Tomatoes

This recipe comes from the teaching your child to cook chapter. My daughter does help a lot in the kitchen, but this chapter is about teaching them basic skills and techniques. I have made beef casseroles plenty of times and usually involves throwing in whatever I have a shoving in the oven for a couple hours. This is great Sunday evening dinner..

Ingredients

1.5 lb chuck steak
Salt and pepper
1 onion
1 oz lard or dripping
2 level tbsps flour
0.5 pint stock
1 tbsps Worcestershire sauce
1 lb tomatoes
2 sticks of celery

Cut the meat into 1 inch cubes and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Peel and slice the onion. Melt the fat in a saucepan, add the onion and fry until soft. Remove the onion and put in a casserole. Add the meat to the fat, fry until brown, remove, draining well and add to the onions. Sprinkle the flour into the pan, mix with the fat, using a wooden spoon, and fry until brown. Add the stock and Worcestershire sauce and bring to the boil. Bring a pan of water to the boil, put in the tomatoes and count up to 5; remove the tomatoes and plunge them into cold water. The skins can now be easily peeled off. Cut each tomato into four. Cut the celery in 0.5 inch slices then add the celery and tomatoes to the casserole. Cook at 180 for 1.5 hours.

The recipe goes on to say you can cook it on the stove for longer if you want. I don’t think I was exact with my timing and I was making Yorkshire pudding so I needed to turn the oven up, so I did leave this on a low heat on the hob while the yorkshires were cooking.

I had bought the steak already cut up so didn’t need to do that. I let my daughter do most things under very close supervision! I’m not to keen on letting her cut the veg with the sharp knives so had to step in then. I do think it’s good to teach them about caution in the kitchen as well.

We didn’t use 2 tbsps of flour, after we added the one it was looking really dry, so we didn’t add any more and just went on and added the liquid.

I’ve been doing a lot of tomato skinning since I started cooking from this book, I think that’s the bit she enjoyed the most!!
image

So this doesn’t take too much effort to get it into the oven. I did think that the volume of liquid looked to low, but suppose the tomatoes will break down and release more fluid.
image

I was worried it might dry out but I kept checking it and it looked absolutely fine, no need to add any more liquid. I did cook this for way longer than an hour and a half. I was having a Yorkshire pudding disaster so this had to cook away for a touch longer.

Tastewise this was nice, the meat is lovely and soft and the sauce is really delicious. I just think that it could do with some herbs and maybe a glass of red wine in it. Although it was tasty and we all enjoyed it i do think I’ve made better beef casseroles. I think that the purpose of this chapter is about educating kids so as a basic casserole recipe it’s a great place to start and has many possible adaptations.

Would I make this again? No not exactly like this, does need a bit of something else, but is a good recipe to start with
image

4 thoughts on “Casseroled Beef and Tomatoes

  1. Hi Jacqui. I agree with you that it is an excellent simple starter for a good stew. I would have, as I’m sure you have in the past added carrots, turnip (down here in Milton Keynes it is called swede), a few garlic cloves, mushrooms and I have also added some bacon rashers.

    I have access to a supermarket pack of shin and marrow bone. However I see that you use lard or dripping which is great.

    When I use tomatoes I always have a load of frozen tomatoes in the freezer home grown in the summer. This is an excellent way to remove the skin by immersing then in water when the skins just peel away, even safer for the kids!

    I really admire your persistence with your challenge. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

