Chocolate Marzipan Walnuts

I made Shrewsbury biscuits a while ago and there are a good few adaptations of the simple recipe, this is the one I fancied trying first!

Ingredients

4 oz butter or margarine
4 oz caster sugar
1 egg
8 oz plain flour
Almond paste
Raspberry jam
4 oz icing sugar
1 tsp cocoa dissolved in 1 tsp boiling water
Walnuts

Cream the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the egg a little at a time beating after each addition. Stir in the flour and mix to a fairly stiff dough. Knead lightly and roll out to approximately quarter of an inch thick on a floured board and cut into rounds with 2.5 inch cutter. Bake at 180 until slightly firm and very lightly browned. Roll out a little almond paste and cut into slightly smaller rounds. Spread the biscuits with a little jam, cover with the almond rings. Make a chocolate glacé icing using the icing sugar, cocoa mix and a further 2-3 tsps water to make the correct consistency. Ice the biscuits with the chocolate icing and top with a walnut piece.

This is kind of two recipes as the chocolate glacé icing comes from another chapter in the book, but as described above is just the cocoa, water and icing sugar mixed until it’s thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.

It doesn’t give quantities of jam or almond paste, I take that to mean marzipan! I didn’t measure how much I used, I had a few bits of both golden and white marzipan left so reckon I maybe used 2 oz of each. I really didn’t use much jam, I think in total it was only a couple of teaspoons.

The biscuits on their own are nice, obviously we had to sample a couple as they came out the oven! I rolled out the marzipan as thin as I could; I used to think I wasn’t that fond of the stuff but have grown to love it recently!

My icing is a little messy, I blame my daughter for that! She didn’t want to help when she realised there was jam and marzipan involved but the minute I made the chocolate icing she was back in to help!! The recipe isn’t clear if they have to be totally covered in icing or just drizzled, we went for a mixture! I was tempted to crush the walnuts and sprinkle all over but for easiness we just plonked one piece on each one; again my wee helper did that!!

These are really nice, the biscuit is nice and crunchy and the marzipan is lovely and soft. Then the chocolate icing and walnuts top it off brilliantly! I do think more walnuts would be nice. It doesn’t need any more icing as they are sweet enough with just the amount I used. The marzipan is definitely the strongest favour but all the components of these work well together. I just need to make them look prettier!

Would I make these again? Yes, really lovely
image

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Marzipan Walnuts

Leave a Reply

