Vienesse Tarts

I am quite partial to a vienesse whirl and are probably my husbands favourite biscuit, so this was going to be challenge!

image

Even on reading this recipe I can’t imagine how to pipe a flour and butter mixture. The only liquid to this is vanilla extract and that’s just drops. I had used butter and it was really soft when I was making this.

So the mixture was really really thick. It’s more like a pastry/dough and there was no way I could pipe it. I did try but was impossible. So I had to put the mix back in a bowl and added some milk to loosen it. I ended up repeating this process 3 times! In the end I think I added about 70ml of milk to get a consistency that I could pipe with out injuring myself. By this point there was mixture everywhere!

I maybe wasn’t as careful with the piping as I should’ve, was a but heavy handed so they are not particularly uniform! Once I put them in the oven I kept a close eye on them as I was worried that the addition of milk would change they way they baked. Not to worry, they looked fine, nice and golden after 20 minutes

image

I removed them from the paper cases, which I assumed was the correct thing to do? They feel really light which was surprising, and they did rise a bit. I had left a fairly obvious hollow when I piped them in but after cooking this had risen and they were much flatter.

After the dusting of icing sugar they were looking not bad. I kind of just plonked the jam on, again I maybe should’ve been a bit more careful and do wish I’d piped it on for a more uniform effect.

So how did these taste? They were light and buttery and quite lovely! Even my husband said they tasted just like shop bought, I think he meant to say the shop bought ones taste just as good as mine?!?

Would I make these again? Yes definitely!
image

12 thoughts on “Vienesse Tarts

  1. I like the idea of piping them in muffin pans and cases – I just do it free hand on a tray :D. Also, it *is* possible to pipe the stiff dough BUT you need a strong piping bag, a reasonably large star tip nozzle (a 1M is too small) and most importantly, do not over full the bag. It’s physics really – the force required to squeeze a whole batch through the nozzle is too great but taking a third of the dough at a time reduces the force required to get it to extrude easily :).

  2. Hi Jacqui. They looked delicious and had to try them. They were delicious, abit like Scottish Shortbread. However when I piped them into the cases after 6 I had used all of the dough. I had used muffin cases so put the dough back into the bag and piped them into cake cases. Still filled the first 6 too full and half filled the last 3. The larger 6 didn’t cook out in the 20 min but the last 3 were perfect. Yum

    • Hi, glad you tried them! I think the recipe says it should make 9-10 but I made 12 and I think mine were a touch big.They do rise a bit so I think I’d pipe less in next time and maybe make 15. Glad you enjoyed them!!

      • I agree. I certainly didn’t have enough dough for 15. I also set my scales to ozs. and measured everything without converting to mg as I normally do. Whether that makes a difference I don’t know. There are none left!!! 😥

Leave a Reply

