Ham Fingers

This recipe actually comes from the appetiser chapter and is meant to be a canapé! I actually thought it sounded like a nice Saturday breakfast!

image

I can’t remember the last time I had fried bread, it must’ve been years ago and was probably fried in oil. Doesn’t sound quite so revolting when it’s being fried in butter! I tried to use as little butter as possible but ended up having to add more, think I just have to accept this is not going to be low on the calories!

Then more butter is used to fry them ham, this time I really only added about a teaspoon!

When I added the egg it cooked really quickly, rather then thicken and go creamy it just became scrambled eggs!! I couldn’t figure out if that’s what it’s meant to be like, that’s this big disadvantage of having no pictures!

I attempted to carefully put this on the toast fingers to make it look neat but gave up! I don’t think this would be a good canapé, it’s way too messy and too big I think!

So how did this taste? Honestly this was nice. We were having for breakfast and was a nice change. If you’d asked me 6 months ago if I wanted what is basically scrambled eggs on toast I would’ve said no, but I did like this and would have again. To have as a canapé it would really need some refinement!! I ended up needing a knife and fork to eat this and pretty sure that’s not the idea of a canapé!

Would I make this again? Yes, to keep the calories down you could just have regular toast, I don’t think frying the bread is really essential!
image

Leave a Reply

