Syrup Sauce

So last night I made the syrup ginger pudding and had intended to make this as well but I forgot to get a lemon! The pudding was delish just as it was but was looking forward to trying with this sauce..

image

image

As you can see there really isn’t much to this recipe. I opted for 4 tbsps of golden syrup! I thought it would be a really sticky sauce but it’s actually quite runny. I think that’s a good thing as it soaks right into the pudding which is just brill!

I tried to take an action shot while I was pouring this on but it was too runny and I am pants at taking a still photo never mind a motion shot!!

image

It doesn’t look like much in the photo but I did pour on a good bit but it was all absorbed by the sponge. I was actually surprised at the volume of sauce I had. I reckon if you wanted a thicker sauce you could reduce either the water or lemon juice.

This was just great with the ginger pudding. As I said yesterday the pudding isn’t overly sweet, so this sauce is perfect with it. It is sweet but also get a lovely lemony sharpness.

Would I make this again? Yes, and still got some pudding and sauce left for tomorrow!!

image

5 thoughts on “Syrup Sauce

Leave a comment