Paprika Chicken

I was really looking forward to trying this recipe which comes from the Austrian chapter, but it has to be one of the most revolting looking things I’ve ever cooked!!

image

image

This has to cook for up to two hours, which seems a long time for pieces of chicken, so my husband started it a bit earlier in the day!

Rather than attempt to joint a chicken I had bought thighs and legs as I thought they would work better in a dish like this.

So 6oz of butter is loads! I wasn’t in for the butter measuring and my husband said he did use less as it seemed like way too much.

The smell from the chicken and paprika cooking was great, but you could see all the fat simmering away! I only added about 50 ml of water with the tomato paste as there seemed to be plenty moisture.

After an hour I added the sour cream and that made the sauce look even more revolting! I thought it would eventually come together and it did a bit as I stirred it, but the minute I stopped stirring it just split again.

I quite reluctantly served this with just a little sauce, didn’t have noodles so had with spaghetti!

Despite my reservations this tasted fantastic! The chicken is so lovely and soft and the sauce tastes great. It is one of the tastiest chicken dishes I’ve tried so far, it just looks awful!!

Would I make it again? Not sure, would try with a quarter of the butter and then not sure about the sour cream!!

image

6 thoughts on “Paprika Chicken

  1. Yes, sour cream has a tendency to split. Maybe just a little cream stirred in right before serving would work. 2 hours seems too long for chicken. I don’t think there will be much difference between 1 hour chicken and 2 hour chicken.

    I do love the flavour profiles here though. Reminds me a bit of a Westernised butter chicken or murgh makhani.

    • Good tip thanks, will need to try again with a little cream, and the chicken definitely did not need any longer than the hour. It was a really tasty dish just looked terrible, but will need to try again!

  2. Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Add our widget and hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list!
    If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards, Joanna
    mytaste.com

  3. I love sauces with yogurt and cream but yes they do split and end up looking terrible. I usually let mine cool down and then reheat it just before serving and find it normally comes together again. Tastes good either way though.

Leave a Reply

