Cream of Asparagus Soup

I’ve got to be honest, I wasn’t particularly looking forward to this recipe. It’s maybe a bit warm for soup!!

image

image

So I had bought the asparagus for this soup and despite not being in the mood for hot soup I carried on anyway! I would say I had a medium sized bundle, and the others in my house did not want soup so I halved this and made just for me!

It’s quite an unusual method to put the butter, onion, stock and asparagus straight into the pan and leave to simmer. Once I added the flour with the stalk it thickened up really quickly. I opted to blend rather than sieve.

I attempted to garnish with the tips but they sunk! Also the photo makes this look almost white but it was actually a really nice pale green.

We’ll I was pleasantly surprised. This is delicious, I just loved the flavour of this soup! The texture was good as well, lovely and velvety and not too thin! Overall I really enjoyed this and was really easy to make.

Would I make this again? Yes I most definitely would!

image

3 thoughts on “Cream of Asparagus Soup

Leave a Reply

