Spaghetti al Burro

The pasta and rice chapter of this book isn’t particularly big which isn’t surprising when you consider the era this book was written. I made one of my usual calls to my gran to ask her about spaghetti and she’s pretty sure it was at least the 70’s before she had spaghetti!!

image

image

There really isn’t much to this recipe and is not normally something I’d choose to eat. I did weigh out the spaghetti and it seemed like hardly any! I was making for 2 adults and a child so I opted to cook the 6oz. When you compare this to the packet of current spaghetti it suggests 3-4oz of spaghetti per person, which is nearly double. Maybe that’s a sign of the times…

Anyway I cooked for 12 minutes and then added the butter and probably a handful of Parmesan, I guess you can add as much or as little as you like depending on how much you like the stuff. We love it (as long as it’s the decent stuff!) so I opted for more..

image

Nothing much else to do but mix and serve, I wasn’t that excited by as this as it’s not something I’d normally make for tea, it just seemed a bit bland and dry for me..

Well what a pleasant surprise, this was great. Yes it looks bland but it’s simplicity is really appealing. The spaghetti was cooked just perfectly and I had used the right amount of butter and Parmesan to nicely coat the pasta. I did serve with even more Parmesan! I also had made a herby garlic bread to have with this and that was fab too.

Overall a great simple wee dinner that’s just great. Perfect with garlic bread and a glass of red!

Would I make this again? Yes, loved it

image

6 thoughts on “Spaghetti al Burro

  1. I often make this kind of thing if I’m just wanting an easy filling meal for myself. I am always surprised by the portions of yesteryear compared to the portions of today. I have an old Edmonds Cookbook that I often refer to and feeds 4 is always barely enough for 2.

Leave a Reply

