Savoury Meringue Eggs

I don’t think this recipe looks anything like you’d expect when reading the title!!

image

image

This is not the kind of dinner I like to cook on a Sunday! I usually like to make a bit more of an effort, but this weekend I’ve baked and iced 5 large cakes and made several sugarpaste flowers so not had time to do a food shop nevermind cook anything exciting!

I think this recipe falls into that category of recipes which is made up based on what’s left in the fridge, so if you have sausages, eggs, beans and cheese then you’re sorted for this delight!!

I have to admit I didn’t use skinless sausages, I only had some pork chipolata sausages so that’s what I used. Considering I’ve been baking and icing all day and am now hungry and I could’ve quite happily eaten the sausages and beans!!

image

The next part of this recipe reminds me of the fluffy fried eggs I made a while back! I assumed the egg whites were to be spread right over the bean mix, then I very carefully dropped the yolks in..

image

The recipe doesn’t specify a cheese and I only had Parmesan in the fridge so that’s what I used!

image

After 10 minutes in the oven the egg white was slightly browned and the yolks just set so I decided that was enough and took them out, I definitely don’t think I used enough cheese..

image

I don’t think my family were terribly impressed with tonight’s tea! I know it’s not exactly a masterpiece but it was just what I was in the mood for. The egg yolk was just set and was lovely with the cheese, the egg white was crispy on top and lovely and fluffy underneath, then the sausages and beans were good. I do maybe think it’s more suited to a weekend breakfast rather than Sunday dinner but when there’s nothing else in the house this worked just fine!

Would I make this again? Yes I would, good weekend brunch perfect with a cup of tea

image

8 thoughts on “Savoury Meringue Eggs

Leave a Reply

