Fruit Crumble with Custard Sauce

It’s been a while since I made a crumble, and I’ve never actually made custard before. Think that this is very much a cheats custard but thought it was a good place for me to start as a custard novice..

image
image

image

I had some already stewed fruit in the freezer so I defrosted a tub of stewed apples and rhubarb that I had made earlier in the year for this

image

For the crumble topping I fancied adding cinnamon so I went with that variation.

image

So the custard isn’t really a proper custard as there’s no egg yolks involved! I think I was put off custard by the horrible gloopy stuff they served in my school, I even remember they used to serve this awful cold pink custard!! I honestly don’t remember the last time I ate custard!

So it was easy enough to make, I was halving the recipe and think I wanted thicker custard so opted for 1 tbsp of custard powder. The custard powder is pure white, but the minute you add the milk it turns dark yellow, and at this point I was thinking this wasn’t going to go well!

Then when you add the milk and then cook until it thickens it actually starts to smell and look like custard!

Even though I was using already stewed fruit I think it was in the oven for closer to 40 minutes before I felt that the topping was properly cooked..

image

So I was serving the custard slightly thicker and warm with the crumble hot from the oven, and together it was great! The fruit isn’t too sweet and good combination of apple and rhubarb. The crumble topping is just fab, I think it could do with even more! The custard is nice with the crumble but it wasn’t that good on its own! I think I need to make the effort and do the proper egg custard and see what that’s like! Overall all though it was a great pud!

Would I make this again? Yes I would, good pud

image

5 thoughts on “Fruit Crumble with Custard Sauce

Leave a Reply

