Sage and Onion Stuffing

I had some giant mushrooms to use and fancied stuffing them with something! I know this recipe says to serve this with pork but I decided it would be good with the mushrooms..

image

image

I have to say the smell of an onion boiling is not particularly pleasant! It was starting to put me off until I opened the sage and that nice smell took over! I was halving this to stuff two giant mushrooms and I didn’t think it was going to be much but by the time it’s all mixed together it looks like loads!

image

I was worried that it was going to be really dry as it didn’t seem like much butter and the other ingredients are all dry. I was thinking that maybe that’s the point of serving with meat so that the juices from the meat soak into the stuffing? Am hoping the mushrooms have the same effect!

There’s not really much to say about making this, is super easy and pretty quick. I guess the idea is to stuff a joint of pork so you would maybe need more depending on the size of the joint. I didn’t use all of this between the two mushrooms.

image

I then decided this needed cheese on top!

image

I baked these in the oven for about 15 minutes and then I finished off under the grill for another couple minutes

image

This was delicious! The mushrooms were just nicely cooked, the stuffing was a lovely consistency and a really fab flavour and then the cheese on top was perfect!

Would I make this again? Yes, will try with pork next time!

image

11 thoughts on “Sage and Onion Stuffing

Leave a Reply

