Devils on Horseback

This was tonight’s starter/canapé. Although in the book it comes under a sub heading of after dinner savouries, I can’t imagine serving something like this after dinner..

image
image

I opted to use the almonds, quite liked the idea of them inside the prunes. I don’t really think the prunes I had bought were quite right! I had regular dried prunes in the cupboard and assumed they were right, I thought a prune was a dried plum but I actually think you can get fresh prunes?? Anyway I was determined to make these today so carried on with dried prunes!!

I really liked the look and smell of the almonds after they had been fried an tossed in salt and cayenne pepper, I could quite happily eat them just like that..

image

As my prunes weren’t very plump I opted to make enough for four each and stuffed 8 prunes with the almonds, I actually could also quite happily eat these just like this..

image

Then they were wrapped in bacon..

image

While they were grilling I got on with frying the bread, I just used a plain white loaf cut into small circles.

I forgot to get watercress so had to make do with spinach! I know they look really weird but I was actually really looking forward to these..

image

These were quite delightful!! The salty bacon with the sweet prune is just great! Then you get the crunch from the almond with a little bit if heat from the cayenne. We both loved these and I think these would be perfect to serve with pre dinner drinks!

Would I make these again? Yes, loved them!

image

3 thoughts on “Devils on Horseback

  1. Pingback: My Blog Anniversary!!! | goodfoodseeking

Leave a Reply

